ALMR reveals finalists for operations manager awards

almr 2013

The finalists for this year’s ALMR Operations Managers Awards have been announced, with a line-up of people from leading bar, club and pub companies.

Twenty business development managers and area managers have been selected for the Association of Licensed Multiple Retailers’ awards after rigorous judging by leading industry figures.

From the managed operators, the finalists for area manager are: Martin Winter, regional director for Scotland and the east of England at club operator The Luminar Group; Menesh Modhwadia, an area manager with Revolution bar operator Inventive Bar Company; Alan Trapp and Jamie O’Riordan from Spirit Pub Company; and Claire Maynard and Sonia Harris of Mitchells & Butlers.

In the category of business development manager of the year, the finalists are: Aubrey Taylor, Matthew Dyson and Peter J Lyne from Star Pubs and Bars; Darren King from Greene King Pub Co; David Hill, Stephen Folbigg and Jon Badge from Enterprise Inns; David Wilson of Charles Wells Pub Company; Iain Grove of Spirit Leased; Matt Dutton from Punch Partnerships; Paul Alldis, Sarah Dinning and Tony Riley from Punch Taverns; and Paul Gornall from Marston’s.

Nineteen years after the Awards were founded, the judges have reported that the standard of entries again demonstrates that the sector is home to some exceptional talent, underpinning the importance of the ALMR Ops Awards and the recognition it affords to the best operations managers in the UK.

Nick Bish, from the ALMR, said: “We have always been exceptionally proud of the awards, the way they recognise and reward the best operations managers – regardless of size of business. I have nothing but admiration for the phenomenal ability of these individuals to develop the company’s growth strategy by supporting, guiding and encouraging licensees to produce popular and profitable retail businesses.

“What is particularly pleasing is that we continue to receive nominations from new companies and those engaging in the competition for the first time – demonstrating both that the awards continue to have relevance and the spread of training and investment in this section of the market. To date, over 70 companies – small and large – have nominated individuals for these awards.”

The final 20 are assessed over a day of routine business visits by one or other of the awards’ mentor judges before they head to the ALMR MasterClass which is led by Ashridge Consulting with contributions from leading individuals in the sector including, this year, Stephen Gould, Philip Lay and Simon French.

The winning area manager and business development manager will be announced in front of the 1,200 guests at the ALMR Christmas Luncheon on Thursday December 18 at Old Billingsgate, London.

The mentor judges are: Andrew Thompson, former operations director of Punch Taverns; Des O’Flanagan, former managing director of John Smiths; Kris Gumbrell, chairman of Brewhouse and Kitchen; and Tony Marten, former operations director of George Gale & Co.

The awards entry papers are available to view online at

The ALMR Operations Managers Awards are funded by patrons that consist of leading supplier and operating companies from the sector including CPL Training, Diageo, Enterprise Inns, Everards, Greene King Pub Co, Halewood, McMullen’s, Novus Leisure, Punch Taverns, Roslyn, Spirit Pub Co, Star Pubs and Venners.

Last year’s winners, pictured above, were Will Fotheringham of JD Wetherspoon and Barrie Robinson of Greene King Pub Partners, with a Rising Star award made to Helen McKenna of Enterprise Inns.

Previous Win a premium infusion jar to re-fashion Woodford Reserve in your bar
Next Industry news round-up: September 8, 2014