ALMR reveals winners of 2017 Operations Managers Awards

ALMR 3 winners with ALMR

The winners have been announced in the Association of Licensed Multiple Retailers (ALMR) awards to find the best operations managers in the bar, pub, club and restaurant sector.

At a ceremony at the Pullman Hotel in London last night (November 6), the 2017 ALMR Operations Managers Awards winners were revealed after a seven-month judging process.

The title of area manager of the year, for operations managers in the casual dining and managed sectors, went to Emma Deabill of restaurant group Yo! Sushi.

The winner of business development manager of the year, for those working in the leased and tenanted sector, was Yvonne Fraser from Greene King Pub Partners.

The Rising Star award for the finalist who showed the greatest potential throughout the competition went to Adam Sykes of pub company and brewer Fuller’s – a finalist in the category for the casual dining and managed sectors.

The finalists went through not only a rigorous judging process but also benefited from a mentoring programme with leading industry figures and a weekend-long masterclass.

ALMR chief executive Kate Nicholls said: “Congratulations to this year’s winners: they should feel especially proud as the competition was particularly fierce and an exceptionally high standard.

“The ALMR Operations Awards are a fantastic asset, not only to the ALMR but to the entire sector. The sector is full of enterprising and talented individuals driving innovation across the sector, and this competition does a great job spotlighting that talent.”

ALMR Ops Awards founder Nick Bish added: “Each year the awards process seeks to reveal, prove and celebrate those individuals at the cutting edge of licensed hospitality. All of these men and women play a crucial role in the continuing success of the dynamic and exciting licensed retail hospitality sector.”

Pictured above are Nick Bish, ALMR chairman Steve Richards, Kate Nicholls, Emma Deabill, Adam Sykes and Yvonne Fraser.

The other finalists in the category for the casual dining and managed operators sector were:

  • Alan Campbell, Nicholson’s Pubs, Mitchells & Butlers
  • Alan Kay, JD Wetherspoon
  • Dave Harrison, The Deltic Group
  • David Jenkins, JD Wetherspoon
  • Leane Patching, The New World Trading Co
  • Richard Bond, JD Wetherspoon
  • Samantha Smith, Living Ventures
  • Tim Sparrow, Be At One
  • Trevor Peach, TGI Fridays.

The other finalists in the category for leased or franchised business operators were:

  • Billy Guthrie, Greene King
  • Craig Nevins, Star Pubs & Bars
  • Simon Thornton, Fuller’s
  • Phil McWilliam, Star Pubs & Bars
  • Salle Wroblewski, Ei Group
  • Stephen Birkett, Admiral Taverns
Previous Leeds bartender wins UK leg of Angostura Global Cocktail Challenge
Next Coca-Cola brings back Christmas promotion for designated drivers