Champions named in International Brewing Awards

camden hells sierra nevadaThe overall champions have been named in the International Brewing Awards 2013 for beer and cider.

They were announced at a presentation in London’s Guildhall with trophies awarded to the championship winners as well as bronze, silver and gold medals to the 96 winners across the 10 beer and cider categories.

Chair of judges Bill Taylor said: “Close to 1,000 beers and ciders were sent into the competition in Burton-upon-Trent earlier this year, so to be selected as one of just 10 champions is a great accolade and one that today’s winners will surely be able to use to advantage in raising the profile of their beers and ciders.”

The list of medal winners reflected the international reach of the competition, with recognition for brewers and cider makers from 25 countries, including South Korea, Greece, Cambodia and Lithuania alongside more established brewing nations such as the USA, UK and Belgium.

Equally diverse was the range of styles represented by the beers thanks to the broad structure of the competition, which encourages brewers to innovate and interpret styles in their own way.

Ruth Evans, director of competition organisers Brewing Technology Services, said: “The competition attracted more entries than in 2011, from 50 countries and from a broad spectrum of producers from regional micro-brewers to multi-national companies. This diversity is important to our awards and key to their appeal to the international brewing community.”

This year, a cider category was reintroduced to the awards. Ruth added: “We will be building on this, as well as reviewing our existing beer categories, for the 2015 awards.”

The International Brewing Awards 2015 will be held in Burton-upon-Trent in February 2015. Entries will open on August 1, 2014.

The International Brewing Awards Champions 2013

Champion Smallpack Lager
Bryggmästarens Premium Gold
AB Åbro Bryggeri, Sweden

Champion Smallpack Ale
Mirror Pond Pale Ale
Deschutes Brewery, USA

Champion Keg Ale
Sierra Nevada Pale Ale
Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, USA

Champion Keg Lager
Hells Lager
Camden Town Brewery, UK

Champion Non and Low Alcohol Beer
Northern Light
Daniel Thwaites, UK

Champion Dark Beer
Obsidian Stout
Deschutes Brewery, USA

Champion Strong Beer
Narwhal Imperial Stout
Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, USA

Champion Speciality Beer
Samuel Adams Black & Brew
The Boston Beer Company, USA

Champion Cask Ale
Green Devil IPA
Oakham Ales, UK

Champion Cider
Thatchers Vintage Cider
Thatchers Cider Ltd, UK

For a full list of all the winners, click here.

Previous Boutique Bar Show coming to Manchester
Next New food and drink menus at Missoula bars