Finalists announced in Casual Dining Restaurant & Pub Awards

Casual DIning awards

Leading bar, pub and restaurant operators have been announced as finalists in the first Casual Dining Restaurant & Pub Awards.

Revolution Bars Group, Geronimo Inns, JD Wetherspoon, Young’s, ASK Italian, Jamie’s Italian, Carluccio’s, Côte Restaurants, Wagamama, Nando’s, Ed’s Easy Diner, GBK, and Pizza Hut are among the 48 competing cross 12 categories.

The awards, which tie in with the Casual Dining show on February 24 and 25, will be presented at an awards dinner on February 24 at The Grange St Paul’s Hotel in London.

The categories range from new concepts, social responsibility and employee engagement to marketing and design, as well as recognising the outstanding brands of the year.

Louisa Pope, award manager at organiser Diversified UK, said: “The casual dining market is thriving, thanks in large part to the fantastic innovations and dedication of operators and the incredible dining experience they offer.

“The launch of the Casual Dining Restaurant & Pub Awards is a fantastic way to celebrate their achievements and reward those companies who are making a real difference to the growth of this sector.

“The calibre of entries has been incredible, congratulations and good luck to all our shortlisted finalists.”

Casual Dining Restaurant & Pub Awards 2016 finalists

New Casual Dining Concept of the Year – sponsored by AAK Foodservice
Filthy Cow
Hood Restaurants
Project Pie
The Beer Kitchen
WM Barker & Co

The Social Responsibility Award – sponsored by Kafoodle
Ed’s Easy Diner
The Breakfast Club
The King’s Head, Winchester

Casual Dining Marketing Campaign of the Year – sponsored by Chef Direct
ASK Italian – #FeedYourTemptation
Cabana – #WeAreBrasil
Chiquito – #SayFreeze
Pizza Hut – Taste Freedom
The Fox – Direct Mail Campaign
WM Barker & Co – Will’s Campaign
Zizzi – #ZizziTacklesCancer

Best Designed Independent Casual Dining Restaurant
Bonfire at the Barbican, London (designed by Catering Design Group)
Ceviche, Old Street, London (designed by Martin Morales & Fabled Studio)
Chai Ki, Canary Wharf, London (designed by DesignLSM)
Filthy Cow, Manchester (designed by Mystery)
KuPP, Merchant Square, London (designed by DesignLSM)
Sulvaki, Bateman St, London (designed by AfroditiKrassa)

Best Designed Multiple Casual Dining Restaurant – sponsored by Red Bull
Burger & Lobster, Threadneedle Street, London (designed by DesignLSM)
Carluccio’s, Market Place, London (designed by DesignLSM)
GBK, St. Vincent Street, Glasgow (designed by moreno:masey)
MeatLiquor, Upper Street, London (designed by Shed)
Nando’s, Guildhall, Southampton (designed by moreno:masey)
Thaikhun Thai Restaurant, London (designed by Thai Leisure Group)
Wondertree, South Terminal, Gatwick Airport (designed by FusionDNA)

Best Designed Causal Dining Pub or Bar
The Blue Ball, Tadworth, Surrey (designed by The JS Design Partnership)
The Cock Inn, Headley, Surrey (designed by Jones Architecture Design)
The Great Wood, Blanchardstown, Ireland (designed by KD Paine & Associates)
The Pint Shop, Cambridge (designed by Macaulay Sinclair)
WM Barker & Co, Bishopgate, London (designed by Jane Holme, Young & Co’s Brewery)

Independent Casual Dining Restaurant of the Year – sponsored by Lincoln & York
Filthy Cow, Manchester
Hood Streatham, London
Hubbox, Plymouth
Project Pie, Dundee
The Yorkshire Meatball Co., Harrogate

Independent Casual Dining Pub of the Year – sponsored by Budweiser Budvar UK
The Bull, Ditchling, Sussex
The Gloucester Old Spot, Bristol
The Long Melford Swan, Suffolk
The Northey Arms, Bath
Little Gems Country Dining: The Park Pub & Kitchen, Bedford and The Swan Inn, Denham, Bucks
The Pint Shop, Cambridge

Employer of the Year – sponsored by Reynolds
Brunning & Price
Burger & Lobster
Jamie’s Italian
The Breakfast Club

Multiple Casual Dining Pub Brand of the Year – sponsored by COREcruitment
Geronimo Inns
JD Wetherspoon
Revolution Bars Group
Sizzling Pubs
Whiting & Hammond

Multiple Causal Dining Restaurant of the Year – sponsored by Bar Foods
ASK Italian
Burger & Lobster
CAU Restaurants
Côte Restaurants
Thaikhun Thai Restaurant

The winner of the casual dining Champion of the year award, nominated by the judges, is to be announced on the night.

The inaugural judging panel includes: Karen Forrester, CEO of TGI Friday’s UK; Keith Bird, chief operating officer of GBK; Kate Nicholls, chief executive of the Association of Licensed Multiple Retailers (ALMR); Anthony Pender, chairman of the BII; Paul Charity, managing director of Propel; Peter Martin, vice chairman of CGA Peach; industry pioneer Ian Neill; Alex Reilley, executive vice chairman of Loungers; Lorraine Wood, director of Arena; Mark McCulloch, founder and CEO of We Are Spectacular; David Worthington, chairman of Holmes & Marchant Design Group; Afroditi Krassa, founder of AfroditiKrassa; Theo Williams, designer and creative director of Theo Williams; Tina Norden, project director at Conran and Partners; and Chris Brazier, group event director of Casual Dining.

For further information, visit For details about visiting the show at the Business Design Centre in London, visit

Previous The Botanist finds winner in cocktail infusions competition
Next Strong December sales rise for expanding Dirty Martini