Punch announces Publican of the Year

(l-r) Steve Burns, regional director; Duncan Garrood, CEO; Allison Lund, Publican of the Waterloo, Wakefield.

Punch has celebrated its leading licensees in the East Midlands and Yorkshire areas at this year’s regional Publican of the Year Awards.

Held at one of Punch’s own pubs, the Great Northern in Mickleover, Derby, the event saw over 70 people attend to celebrate their business’ success.

Now in its third year, the ceremony was a glitzy affair with accolades for Publican of the Year and Special Recognition among many of the highlights.

Awards were broken down by areas, starting with the Punch development managers’ shortlist of their nominated publicans, each selected for showcasing best pub practice. This was followed by the grand finale when Punch crowned the overall winners on the night.

Punch’s regional director, Steve Burns, established the awards. He said: “We’re thrilled to be able to celebrate our Publicans’ successes and have been delighted by the feedback provided by the Punch development managers. Their role is to not only advise the Publicans on how they can achieve their business goals but to also strengthen Punch’s own connection with the Publicans to provide the best support possible.

“The Publicans have shown a continued commitment to running outstanding pubs over the last 12 months and the awards provide a great opportunity to celebrate their successes and strengthen the relationship we have with our talented Publicans.”

Full winner details of each category are listed below:

· Regional Publican of the Year Winner: Allison Lund from the Waterloo, Wakefield
· Newcomer Award: – Andy Longworth & Claire Fleetwood from the Blacksmiths, Doncaster
· Lifetime Achievement Award: Steve Callaghan from Three Horseshoes, Coalville
· Newcomer Award: Beccy Webster from the Blacks Head, Carlton
· Mystery Guest Awards: Henry & Kitty Wagg from the Crown & Glove, Sheffield
· Service Hero Award: Steve Cave from the Risley Park in Derby (this award is for a member of staff who works in the pub and has impressed a Punch representative)

Area Publican of the Year winners:
· Dawn & Fred Fletcher from the Anchor Inn, Glossop
· Anna from the Strugglers, Lincoln
· Steve Osborne from the Coach & Horses, Nottingham
· John Key & Gail Weston from the White Hart, Quorn, Loughborough
· Tim Turner from the Greyhound, Belper
· Glynn Stebbing from the Pen Nook, Sheffield
· Henry & Kitty Wagg from the Crown & Glove, Sheffield

Special Recognition:
· Glyn Naden from the Jolly Sailor, Macclesfield
· Kate Wade from the Mayflower, Immingham
· Shaun Slater from the Black Rock Hotel, Wakefield
· Steve Frobisher from the Carpenters, Doncaster
· Darren & Marie Faulkner from the Top House, Nottingham
· Chris Hacket from the Gladstone, Nottingham
· Pete Wagstaff & Dave Scott from the Ashby Tavern, Hinckley
· Trevor & Nadine Price from the Masons Arms, Mickleover
· Ian & Sue Moon from the Chequers, Ilkeston
· Jack & Gill Halsall from the Crown, Totley
· Glynn Stebbing from the Pen Nook, Sheffield

Previous Guinness launches St Patrick’s Day kits
Next Rhubarb IPA from Camden Town Brewery