Regional winners announced in Scottish bar awards

Saint Luke's Glasgow

The regional winners have been announced in the 2015 Scottish Bartenders Network awards ahead of tomorrow’s ceremony.

An overall winner will be chosen out of the three which have secured the top spot in the regions of North, West and East.

In the north, regional winners include The Copper Dog at The Craigellachie Hotel in Craigellachie, Heathmount Hotel in Inverness, The Tippling House in Aberdeen and CASC in Aberdeen as well as bartenders Jonny Arthur, Ciaran Russell and Martin Farmer.

Glasgow dominates in the west, with winners including Kelvingrove Café, Blythswood Hotel, The Finnieston and Porter & Rye and bartenders Michael Cameron, Jamie Moran and Danny Whelan.

Over in the east, regional winners include The Lucky Liquor Co, Tigerlily and Hoot the Redeemer – all in Edinburgh – alongside bartenders Miran Chauhan, Leon Black and Cameron Mack.

The winner of each category will be announced at the awards on Wednesday October 28. Other categories include best whisky advocate and beer champion as well as a Legend Award.

Note that the venue has been changed to Saint Luke’s (pictured) in Bain Square in Calton, Glasgow. Running from 6.30pm to 9.30pm, it follows the Boutique Bar Show which takes place at Glasgow’s Old Fruitmarket during the daytime.

For more details, visit

Full list of regional winners

Young Bartender of the Year in association with Red Squirrel Gingernut Liqueur
North – Ciaran Russell
West – Jamie Moran
East – Leon Black

Bartender of the Year in association with Star of Bombay Gin
North – Jonny Arthur
West – Michael Cameron
East – Miran Chauhan

Cocktail Bar of the Year in association with Daffy’s Gin
North – The Copper Dog, Craigellachie
West – Kelvingrove Cafe, Glasgow
East – The Lucky Liquor Co, Edinburgh

Hotel Bar of the Year in association with Solid Liquids
North – Heathmount Hotel, Inverness
West – Blythswood Square Hotel, Glasgow
East – Tigerlily, Edinburgh

Cocktail Menu of the Year in association with Campari
North – The Tippling House, Aberdeen
West – The Finnieston, Glasgow
East – Hoot the Redeemer, Edinburgh

Bar Manager of the Year in association with Skipper Rum
North – Martin Farmer
West – Danny Whelan
East – Cameron Mack

Whisky Advocate with Wemyss Malts
North – Aly Mathers
West – Frank Murphy
East – Steven Cooney

Beer Champion in association with The Hanging Bat Brewing Co
North – Michelle Russell
West – Jehad Hatu
East – Wes Gordon

Best New Bar of 2015 in association with Pickering’s Gin
North – CASC, Aberdeen
West – Porter & Rye, Glasgow
East – Hoot the Reedemer, Edinburgh

The Legend Award in association with Eden Mill Distillery & Brewery
The winner will be announced on the night.

Previous Red Light and HMSS lead winners in Bristol awards
Next Cocktails are shaken and stirred to tie in with new Bond film